University Church has a rich heritage of Spirit-filled ministry in Waxahachie. Founded in August of 1944, the church was established in the chapel of Southwestern Assemblies of God University (then named Southwestern Bible Institute). Bible College President, and Superintendent of the Texas District Council of the Assemblies of God, F. D. Davis agreed to serve as Pastor of the newly formed church until a full-time Pastor could be called.
In August of 1947, the congregation moved into their new building on Sycamore Street, while Carl Barnes was Pastor.
Under the leadership of Pastor Joe W. Adams in the 1960s, University Church became the second in highest missions giving in the North Texas District (Assemblies of God), and under the pastoral guidance of Delmer and Eleanor Guynes (1965-1967), the church became the top giver to missions in the District.
While James and Joyce Bridges served as Pastors (1971-1977), the property at the present location (Solon Rd & John Arden) was purchased. The congregation moved into its current facilities at 221 Solon Road in 2004, during the pastoral ministry of Earl and Darlene Teeter (1987-2006).
Doug and Deborah Sullivan (2006 - 2010), Mike and JaLayne Eddy (2010 - 2017), Pastor Gerald and Karen Patterson (2017 - present).
The three videos below chronicle the history of University Church through their 75th Anniversary, celebrated in the Fall of 2019.
Assembly of God
221 Solon Rd
Waxahachie, TX 75165
Staffed Nursery not provided
Adult Bible Study - Fellowship Hall